Sunday, November 8, 2009

Stardrive - Intergalactic Trot

Stardrive's Intergalactic Trot (with Robert Mason) first album released in 1973 is a significant contribution to the development of the synthesizer as a fulyl devoted instrument. At the time this album was recorded all synthesizers were only capable of playing only one or two notes at the time. As stated on the liner notes “Using a few pre-constructed parts plus a lot of custom-designed electronic gear and great ingenuity, Robert Mason has built the world’s first multi-voiced synthesizer that can be played like a real keyboard instrument with full chords and tonal clusters. All the music on this album was performed live on the Stardrive synthesizer, thus accounting for the unprecedented fullness and spontaneity of the electronic sound.” Although the compositions and covers are not as appealing this is a curiosity item worth having. Personnel are keyboardist Robert Mason, Michael Brecker on saxophones, Steve Gadd on drums, Harvey Sarch on guitar, Jaime Austria on bass and Bruce Ditmas on percussion. Originally issued in 1973, it is now making its worldwide CD debut thanks to Wounded Bird Records.
Track Listing:
1. Rushes (sampled above)
2. Strawberry Fields Forever
3. Stardrive
4. Dr. Tandem
5. Want To Take You Higher
6. Everything at Once
7. Intergalactic Trot

Buy it at Wounded Bird Records or Amazon Intergalactic Trot


  1. I disagree that the music is not interesting. It is one of the only great examples of American prog rock. Truly two unique records for synth heads and prog heads alike.

  2. I disagree that the Stardrive records are not interesting musically. They are among the only truly great examples of American prog rock, and are therefore of interest to both synth-heads and prog-heads alike. Wonderful.