Monday, November 9, 2009

Caldera - Caldera

Caldera was one of the most innovative jazz-fusion super groups of the late 70s. An All-star line-up of studio musicians who deeply embedded soul, funk, Brazilian and Afro-Cuban rhythms, Andean influenced music and beautiful melodies to create a magnificent real fusion melting pot. They truly lived and breathed their ethnic cultural heritages through their music. Members were keyboardist Eduardo del Barrio (Argentina), guitarist Jorge Strunz (Costa Rica), bassist Dean Cortez (United States), saxophonist Steve Tavaglione United States), drummer & world famous session player the late Carlos Vega (Cuba) and percussionist Mike "Baiano" Azevedo (Brazil). In 1976, Caldera signed with Capitol Records and recorded this self-titled debut album produced by Wayne Henderson of Crusaders fame. The band called it quits in 1979. Strunz went on to form the guitar duo Strunz & Farah with Iranian/Persian guitarist Ardeshir Farah, Eduardo del Barrio went on to work with artists such as Earth, Wind & Fire, Stan Getz and Dianne Reeves, Steve Tavaglione went on to work as a solo artist and session player, Dean Cortez left the group after two albums to join pop singer Boz Scaggs and then the group Hiroshima and Carlos Vega went on to work as a world class drummer with artists such as James Taylor until his death in April 7th, 1998. On this album they are supported by Raul De Souza (Brazil) on trombone, Roberto da Silva (Brazil) on percussion and Carolyn Dennis (U.S) on vocals. Unfortunately the CD is out of print.
Track Listing:
1. Guanacaste (sampled above)
2. Coastin'
3. Exaltation
4. Synesthesia
5. Out Of The Blue
6. El Juguete


No comments:

Post a Comment