Friday, October 30, 2009

David Sancious - The Bridge

Multi-instrumentalist David Sancious released this beautiful solo piano (with a few acoustic guitars and keyboards) album in 1983 on the Elektra Musician label. He is best know for his progressive work in the 1970’s although he was one of the early members of Bruce Springsteen’s backing group, The E Street Band. He has also done some superb session work with artists such as Stanley Clarke, Narada Michael Walden, Zucchero, Peter Gabriel, Robbie Dupree, Billy Cobham, Jack Bruce and Sting among many others. This amazing rip from the LP was generously provided by Smooth of the late blog My Jazz World.

Track Listing:
1. What If?
2. Sunday
3. Silent Scenes
4. Invisible Dance
5. Sleight Of Hand
6. The Eyes Have It
7. Morning
8. Flight Of Light
9. The Bridge (sampled above)


Robbie Dupree with David Sancious

This very intimate and rare production released in 2003 features a duo between Robbie Dupree on vocals and harmonica and David Sancious on acoustic piano. They perform a collection of some of Dupree’s most memorable songs minus the hit “Steal Away”, which surprisingly does not appear on this production. These are well crafted renditions of Mr. Dupree’s repertoire simplified in instruments but enriched with re-harmonization, beautifully performed by Mr. Dupree’s silk vocals and Mr. Sancious’ smooth yet fierce playing. The mood of the whole collection makes it a pleasure to listen to even if you’re not a fan of Robbie Dupree and even if you have never heard these songs before. The is an artist exclusive release.
Track Listing:
1. Carried Away
2. Month of Sundays
3. Walls Come Down
4. This is Life
5. Return to Her
6. Wings
7. Desperation
8. Real Life (sampled above)
9. Sunny Day
CD available at Robbie Dupree's website or Robbie Dupree With David Sancious - Robbie Dupree

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

Michel Colombier - Michel Colombier

Recorded back in 1979, this amazing album is a remarkable achievement of beauty, force, passion and Fusion. The late bassist Jaco Pastorius plays as soloist with incomparable sensitivity on the tracks “Dreamland” and “Birdsong”. Also featured are Larry Carlton and Lee Ritenour on guitar, Peter Erskine and Steve Gadd on drums, Herbie Hancock on keyboards, Tom Scott and Michael Brecker on sax, Airto Moreira on percussion and the London Symphony Orchestra. Bravo, the CD has been reissued again and it is available at Audiophile Imports.
Track listing:
1. Sunday
2. Take Me Down
3. Dreamland (sampled above)
4. Queens Road
5. Overture
6. Bird Song
7. Layas
8. Do It
9. Spring
10. The Dancing Bull
11. Autumn Land

Monday, October 26, 2009

Michel Colombier - Old Fool Back On Earth

Michel Colombier (May 23, 1939 - November 14, 2004), was a French composer, songwriter, arranger, and conductor who collaborated with prestigious artists including Charles Aznavour, Serge Gainsbourg, Beach Boys, Supertramp, Herb Alpert, Quincy Jones, Roberta Flack, Barbra Streisand, Johnny Mathis, Neil Diamond, Herbie Hancock, Earth Wind and Fire, Joni Mitchell, David Sanborn, Branford Marsalis, Bobby McFerrin, Jaco Pastorius and Madonna. His legendary album Wings, earned him three Grammy Award. He scored more than one hundred feature, cable, and television films including White Nights, Against All Odds and the legendary Purple Rain, for which he won a Grammy as well as an Academy Award for Best Song Score. “Old Fool Back on Earth” has to be his masterpiece. In his own words: “This is the story I dreamed when I heard this music, but feel free to dream your own”. Part classical, part jazz, part cinematic but always beautiful, it appeals to any music lover. It features the London Symphony Orchestra, Ernie Watts on all sax solo parts, Patti Austin, James Ingram, Alex Ligertwood, Wayne Anthony and Phil Perry on vocals, Abraham Laboriel on bass, Chester Thompson and Fernando Toussaint on drums, Paulinho Da Costa and Alex Acuna on percussion, LA horn section and background vocals. A great story and beautiful artwork by Jean-Michel Folon and Milton Glaser. Complete biography. Album details and artwork. The CD is out-of-print but it is available at iTunes.

Track Listing as it appears on the CD:
Disc: 1
1. Old Fool Back on Earth
2. God Pan
3. My Fairy in the Crystal Reeds (And Other Frogs)
4. Nymphéas
5. Alone?
6. Angel of Love
7. Dolorosa (sampled above)
8. Woman
9. Solitario
10. Infinite Human
11. Wish I Could Stay
Disc: 2
1. Nightbird-The Forest
2. Nightbird-The City
3. Nightbird-The Island
4. Minotaur
5. Nuit et Solitude
6. Alone Again
7. I Call You My Love

Old Fool Back On Earth - Michel Colombier

Saturday, October 24, 2009

Frost - Milliontown

Frost is a new project founded by musician, songwriter and producer Jem Godfrey. Supported by studio musician John Boyes, John Mitchell (KINO, Arena, The Urbane) and two members of the band IQ, John Jowitt and Andy Edwards, Frost combines gripping song structures, refined vocal arrangements, virtuoso instrumental passages, studio trickery, electronic elements, beautiful keyboards, poppy vocals, great guitar work, gorgeous symphonic moments, amazing drum work, subtle electronica textures, cinematic vibe, slightly industrial beats, processed vocals and clever mixing. The tracks are always clever and to the point. Frost marries the hallmarks of pop and progressive rock with modern recording and production techniques. Milliontown is an outstanding debut. It's a must-have for fans of neo-prog but it will certainly appeal to any rock fan. Enjoy the “Sample” below and support this band by buying the CD or downloading the whole album.

Track Listing:
1. Hyperventilate
2. No Me No You
3. Snowman
4. The Other Me
5. Black Light Machine
6. Milliontown
Buy Milliontown at Amazon or Milliontown - Frost

Saturday, October 10, 2009

The Dream of the Electric Guitars Volume 1

The biggest and most amazing wizards of the Electric Guitar reunite their talents on this amazing collection of classic, rare to find, moody, dreamy and seductive rock instrumental tracks, blazing with virtuosity and driven by one common element, the electric guitar. These amazing everlasting performances feature the best electric guitar players in the world today such as Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Neal Schon (Santana, Journey, Bad English), Steve Lukather (Toto), Gary Moore, Mike Stern, Marty Friedman (Megadeth), Michael Thompson (Celine Dion, Ray Charles, David Foster, Shania Twain), Andy Timmons, Tim Pierce and Markku Kanerva. This release also features some of the best musicians of our planet such as Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater, Alice Cooper, Kiss, Billy Idol, Yngwie Malmsteen, Planet X), Simon Phillips (Toto), Mo Foster (Phil Collins), David Garfield and Pekka Pohjola just to name a few. 76 minutes of incredible guitar playing, with tracks never before available for mass consumption such as: "Dark", "Rita" and "Intro". I have created a Sample Medley of all tracks on this incredible CD so that you can get a broad idea about it.

Track Listing:
1. Intro - Michael Thompson
2. For The Love Of God - Steve Vai
3. Cryin’ - Joe Satriani
4. Father - Neal Schon
5. The Light In Your Eyes - Mo Foster and Gary Moore
6. Cry For You - Andy Timmons
7. Rita - Pekka Pohjola and Markku Kanerva
8. Song For Jeff - Steve Lukather
9. Lust For Life - Marty Friedman
10. Common Ground - Mike Stern
11. Stony Days­ - Derek Sherinian and Steve Lukather
12. One Desire - Tim Pierce
13. Dark - Michael Thompson

Buy it at CD Baby