Saturday, May 1, 2010

Calogero - Calogero

Calogero enjoyed success as a member of the trio Les Charts, which he co-founded in 1986. In 1991's Les Charts became certified chart superstars with "Notre Monde à Nous". The trio split in 1997 and Calogero spent the remainder of the decade writing material for other French artists such as Florent Pagny, Ismaël Lô, Hélène Ségara, and Patrick Fiori. He finally issued his debut solo LP, “Au Milieu des Autres” in 2000 but it was in 2002 that Calogero returned to chart glory, reeling off a series of hits with this production simply entitled “Calogero”. This album combines in a very successful package beautiful compositions, great vocals, well-crafted pop-rock all assembled with the amazing on-target production of Pierre Jaconelli. The beauty of this production lays on the beautiful melodies, which evoke the glory days of French Chantours such as Piaf, Aznavour, Brel and Gainsbourg while maintaining a very contemporary pop-rock alternative sound. Every production detail steers the listener towards reminiscences of old French film music, Paris kissing corners and ever lasting travelling moments. Musicians are: Calogero on vocals and bass, Michel Ayme, Olivier Marly and Pierre Jaconelli on guitars, Yannick Fonderie and Jean Pierre Pilot on keyboards, Magnus Perrson on drums, Yvette Hammond on background vocals and Olivier Schultheis and Stanislas Renoult as string arrangers.

Track Listing:
1. En Apesanteur
2. Aussi Libre Que Moi
3. Tien an Men (sampled above)
4. Prouver l'Amour
5. Prendre Racine
6. À la Gueule des Noyés
7. Une Dernière Chance
8. Juste un Peu de Silence (duet with Yvette Hammond)
9. Je Vis Où Tu M'As Laissé
10. Partir Ou Rester
11. Le Plus Beau Jour
Buy Calogero at Amazon or Calogero - Calogero

No comments:

Post a Comment