Friday, April 30, 2010

Paul Anka - Rock Swings

Paul Anka Rock Swings
What!! Paul Anka!! Well yes, the same Paul Anka singer, song-writer who became a teen idol in 1957 with his single "Diana", "Top-40" singer in the 60's, and one of the most prolific, successful songwriters in history whose amazing writing credits include the English lyrics for the song "My Way" and "She's a Lady" for Tom Jones and The Tonight Show Theme, the big-band tune that was heard at the beginning of the Tonight Show starring Johnny Carson for who knows how many years. "Rock Swings" is a concept album that takes a well crafted selection of rock hits such as "Jump" by Van Halen, "Smells like Teen Spirit" by Nirvana, "Wonderwall" by Oasis arranged as if they were swing standards with a completely different, and fresh new sound. Sonically amazing, musically impeccable, vocally superb, this album swings hard from start to finish. Crank it loud! This is seriously fun music that swings hard. To those who are familiar with the originals, some of the arrangements may feel weird but once you allow yourself to disconnect your memories of the originals these arrangements stand on their own as testimony to the longetivity of these songs and why they have become the new standards. It’s also hilarious to play this CD as background music and see how long it takes your friends to figure out what's being played. Musicians are Paul Anka on vocals plus a big band.
NOTE: This album is not available digitally.
Track Listing:
1. It's My Life (sampled above)
2. True
3. Eye of the Tiger
4. Everybody Hurts
5. Wonderwall
6. Black Hole Sun
7. It's a Sin
8. Jump
9. Smells Like Teen Spirit
10. Hello
11. Eyes Without a Face
12. Lovecats
13. The Way You Make Me Feel
14. in Heaven
Buy Rock Swings at Amazon

1 comment:

  1. I've been building a new state-of-the-art control room in a recording studio and this is one of the CDs that I play through the system. This is a weird and fantastically wonderful piece of music.