Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Mathias Eick - The Door

Mathias Eick - The Door
Norwegian Trumpeter Mathias Eick has worked with musicians like Chick Corea, Manu Katché, Trondheim Jazz Orchestra, Norwegian psychedelic rock band Motorpsycho and the jazz/progressive rock ten-piece band Jaga Jazzist. Just like his counterpart Arve Henriksen, he also encompasses many influences such as Miles Davis, Chet Baker, Jon Hassell, Kenny Wheeler, Tomasz Stanko and Nils Petter Molvaer. However his playing has developed his own characteristic sound full of lyricism, a strong musical sense and a beautiful tone that allows him to sound smooth at any register. Eick released “The Door” in 2008 as his debut on the ever innovative ECM label. This CD is characterized by great melodic content and an ambience prone to the development of edgy yet beautiful improvisations. Musicians: Mathias Eick on trumpet, guitar and vibraphone, Jon Balke on piano, Audun Kleive on drums, Audun Erlien on bass and Stian Carstensen on pedal steel guitar. Read a great review by Thom Jurek.
Track Listing:
1. The Door
2. Stavanger
3. Cologne Blues (sampled above)
4. October
5. December
6. Williamsburg
7. Fly
8. Porvoo
Buy The Door at Amazon or The Door - Mathias Eick, Jon Balke, Audun Kleive & Audun Erlien

No comments:

Post a Comment