Saturday, May 22, 2010

Boz Scaggs - Fade Into The Light

Boz Scaggs - Fade Into Light
Boz Scaggs enjoyed success in the 70s with his hit "Lowdown" from his now classic album “Silk Degrees”. Scaggs spent the 80s in retirement until he resurfaced totally energized in 1988. Since then he’s been releasing new material, including “Fade into Light” in 1999, which is a magnificent album even if you never heard or liked Scaggs. It features unplugged and redone performances of Scaggs' classics with a completely different feel as well as some new tunes. The remakes are so well done that you don’t even miss the originals. His sultry raspy voice has encountered a new depth of performance, phrasing and dimension that involves you. The musicians’ contributions are also superb. Musicians: Boz Scaggs on vocals, guitar, keyboards and vocals, Michael Omartian on keyboards, Jai Winding, Greg Phillinganes and Kevin Bents on piano, Randy Kerber on piano, keyboards, string arrangements and conductor, David Paich (of Toto), Michael Rodriguez and Aaron Zigman on keyboards, Dave Carpenter, Nathan East, Neil Stubenhaus, James "Hutch" Hutchinson and Roscoe Beck on bass, Robben Ford, Dean Parks, Ray Parker Jr. and Fred Tackett on guitar, Jim Keltner, Curt Bisquera and Ricky Fataar on drums and percussion, Lenny Castro on percussion, Booker T. Jones and William McLeish Smith on organ, Norbert Stachel and Tom Scott on saxophone and Kathy Merrick and Lisa Frazier background vocals. Produced by Scaggs, David Paich and Ricky Fataar. Beautifully recorded by Michael Rodriguez, Chris Tavarez, Terry Christian, Dan Garcia, Paul McKenna and mixed by Steve MacMillan. Mastered by Bernie Grundman. Released as a Dual Disc with the entire album on enhanced audio and some videos on the flip side.

Track Listing:
1. Lowdown
2. Some Things Happen
3. Just Go
4. Love T.K.O.
5. Fade into Light
6. Harbor Lights
7. Lost It
8. Time
9. Sierra(sampled above)

10. We're All Alone
11. Simone
12. I'll Be the One
Buy Fade into Light [Dual Disc] on Amazon or Fade Into Light - Boz Scaggs

No comments:

Post a Comment