Saturday, May 29, 2010

Vince Gill - These Days - Walking On A Big Chill - The Rockin' Record

Vince Gill - These Days
Vince Gill has distinguished himself with numerous Grammys including two for this release (2007 Best Country Album and 2006 Best Country Male Performance with the song “Reason Why”) and sales in excess of 22 million and he has reached country chart success with more than 40 singles. In 2006 Gill released “These Days”, a 4-CD set each with a different musical but all within the real of country music. It includes 43 new and original songs, each one so special in its own way. This unprecedented, gutsy, bold and ambitious undertaking collection is an artistic tour de force that displays Gill’s mastery as a songwriter, performer, singer, producer and musician. Gill enlisted the help of top rated studio musicians and guest artists such as Sheryl Crow, Bonnie Raitt, Diana Krall, Rodney Crowell, Phil Everly, Emmylou Harris, John Anderson, Lee Ann Womack, Jenny Gill, Amy Grant, LeAnn Rimes, Gretchen Wilson, Guy Clark, Trisha Yearwood, Michael McDonald and many more. But the guest artists’ key role in “These Days” is more as background gifted musicians rather than stars mainly due to Gill’s personal relationships with most of them. "These Days" is a landmark album which traces the musical gifted abilities of one of country music's most versatile and diverse artists. Disc 1: "Workin' on a Big Chill" is as a straight out rock & roll record which exceeds anybody’s expectations, which also showcases Gill's guitar virtuosity. Musicians: Vince Gill on vocals and electric guitar solos│guests: Michael Mc Donald, Gretchen Wilson, Rodney Crowell, Del McCoury and Bekka Bramlett│drums: Chad Cromwell and Billy Thomas│bass: Michael Rhodes│acoustic guitars: Richard Bennett, Al Anderson, Tom Britt and Vince Gill│electric guitars: Tom Bokovak, Al Anderson, Stewart Smith, Richard Bennet and Vince Gill│archtop guitar: Richard Bennet│slide guitar: Tom Britt│fiddle: Stuart Duncan and James Carter│dobro: Paul Franklin│mandolin and banjo: Ronnie McCoury│steel guitar: Paul Franklin│organ and keyboards: Pete Wasnerand John Hubbs│percussion: Erik Darken and Chad Cromwell│background vocals: Bekka Bramlett, Gene Miller, Will Owsley, Vince Gill, Billy Thomas and Jenny Gill│plus horns arranged by Michael Omartian and Jim Horn. Produced by Vince Gill, John Hobbs and sound engineering Justin Niebank.

Track Listing:
1. Workin' on a Big Chill (sampled above)
2. Love's Standin'
3. Cowboy Up
4. Sweet Thing
5. Bet It All on You
6. Nothin' for a Broken Heart
7. Son of a Ramblin' Man
8. Smilin' Song
9. The Rhythm of the Pourin' Rain
10. Nothin' Left to Say
Buy These Days on Amazon or

No comments:

Post a Comment