Saturday, March 6, 2010

Richard Page - Shelter Me

Richard Page - Shelter Me
Richard Page is mostly know in the music circles as probably the most sought after background vocalist in the LA studio music scene, during the seventies and eighties due to his excellent vocal skills and a voice, smooth as silk, yet fierce and appealing. But in the consumer music world he is well know as the former member of Mr. Mister, Pages and 3rd Matinee. As a singer and muti-instrumentalist Richard Page teamed up with his childhood friend from Phoenix, Arizona, Steve George in forming their group Pages and later Mr. Mister and they scored two consecutive Hot 100 #1 singles, "Broken Wings" and "Kyrie" before breaking up on September 1990. In 1994 Page became the successor to Kevin Gilbert from the earlier group “Toy Matinee” and re-grouped with Patrick Leonard under the name “3rd Matinee” to release their only amazing album “Meanwhile”. Page is also well-known for his composition skills. His songwriting clients include Kenny Loggins, Madonna, Josh Groban, Celine Dion, Chaka Khan, Donna Summer, Dionne Warwick, The Pointer Sisters, Meat Loaf, Patti LaBelle, Hall & Oates, Bill Champlin, Al Jarreau and many others. “Shelter Me’ was released in 1996 but it remains a strong contemporary release. It finds Page in the solo-driving seat accompanied by great musicians. It’s a natural follow-up to his days with Pages and it offers an array of emotions embedded on beautifully crafted pop-rock compositions paired with amazing performances and superb production. This is real music with real musicians that grows on you with every listen. Personnel are: Richard Page vocals, guitar, keyboard and piano, James Harrah, Michael Thompson and Steve Farris on guitars, Jimmy Johnson and John Pierce on bass, Denny Fongheiser and Jerry Marotta on drums, Luis Conte and Pat Mastelotto on percussion, Kim Bullard on keyboards, Tollak Ollestad on harmonica, Keith Mc Cabe on mandolin, Suzanne Teng on flute, Rick Sailon on violin and background vocals by Steve George, Arnold Mc Culler, Louis Price, Carmen Carter, Cecilia Bullard and Lance Eaton. Mixed by famous recording engineer Elliot Scheiner. Richard Page's website.

Track Listing:
1. The Best Thing
2. My Oxygen
3. Even the Pain
4. Shelter Me (sampled above)
5. Let Me Down Easy
6. A Simple Life
7. Dependence
8. Just to Love You
9. If All Else Fails
10. Heaven Is 10 Zillion Light Years Away

Buy it at Amazon or

No comments:

Post a Comment