Saturday, March 13, 2010

Troy Roberts - Soul Garbage

Troy Roberts Soul Garbage
These days it is rare to find a new talent that shakes your inner music core but Australian saxophonist Troy Roberts does just that. His amazing playing, his beautiful tone and his incredible phrasing are coupled with his talent for writing fresh and exiting new compositions. You can hear traces of all his jazz influences brought together by the fierce power of his unique voice. His compositions are a balancing act between jazz-funk and standard-type genres. In this recording we find a heavier emphasis on straight ahead jazz with a tinge of funk. James Morrison writes on the CD liner notes: “Whilst it’s not common to display virtuosity, it’s even rarer to be wonderfully creative while doing so. But the rarest of all gifts is to have a unique voice; a sound that is unmistakably your own, Troy Roberts has that gift. On this recording he amply demonstrates that it’s possible to pay homage to the great tenor players of jazz and still create a fresh approach that leaves the listener always in anticipation of what he’ll come up with next. Having gathered an inspired group of musicians, written some great music and infused all involved with his determination to make it special. Troy gives us "Soul Garbage", a first recorded look at what will undoubtedly be a musical journey destined to be emulated by those who follow”. Personnel are: Troy Roberts on saxophone, Tom O’Hollaran on Piano, organ and keyboards, Paul Pooley on basses, Andrew Fisenden on drums and James Morrison on trumpet, flugelhorn and trombone.

Track Listing:
1. Soul Garbage
2. Stanley
3. Table Mountain
4. Up To No Good (sampled above)
5. Close To You
6. The 80’s Cop Show
7. Jagged Edge
8. J-Lag
Buy it at CD Baby or

No comments:

Post a Comment