Monday, January 25, 2010

Funk Factory (feat. Michal Urbaniak & Urszula Dudziak

Funk Factory
Funk Factory was released in 1976 on Elektra Records is the creation of famous Polish violinist Michal Urbaniak and his wife Urszula Dudziak in collaboration with the main cast of musicians who collaborated on Urbaniak’s “Fusion III”. This production seems to be a preview of what Urbaniak had in mind for his musical concept and career for the remaining of the 70’s and part of the 80’s. The vocal tracks (with lyrics) mark a drastic departure not only from the Columbia label but from his musical concept of the Fusion trilogy and pave the way for later funky-vocal oriented albums such as “Body English” also from 1976 and “Ecstasy” from 1978. Urbaniak’s high-flying electrified and modified violin sound is still as present as before but Urszula Dudziak’s wide-range vocals and sound effects are less of a driving force as they have given way to the somehow uneventful singing with dull lyrics. There are even a couple of tracks where Urbaniak doesn’t even seem to play. Nonetheless, the rest of the album, which is mainly instrumental, maintains the concept of the Fusion trilogy since at times these instrumental compositions sound like outtakes from those sessions and could easily be paired against some of Urbaniak’s best fusion, thus proving the point that most of any production by any artist contains material, such as the song “Funk It” (sampled below), which is worth considering if taken out of context from their original releases. The cast of musicians continue to stretch and provide further boundaries into improvisation and rhythmic accompaniment in a funkified manner. Personnel are: Michal Urbaniak on violin, Vi-tar and saxes, Urszula Dudziak on vocals and percussion, Wlodek Gulgowski on keyboards, Anthony Jackson and Tony Levin on bass, Steve Gadd and Gerry Brown on drums, Bernard Kafka on vocals, and John Abercrombie and Barry Finnerty on guitars. This album has been reissued thanks to the re-issuing label Wounded Bird Records.

Track Listing:
1. Watusi Dance (Instrumental)
2. Horsing Around
3. Rien Ne Va Plus
4. After All the World Goes Home
5. Next Please (Instrumental)
6. The Music in Me
7. Funk It (Instrumental) (Sampled Above)
8. Lilliput (Instrumental)
9. Sinkin' Low (Instrumental)
Buy Funk Factory at Amazon or Wounded Bird Records, or

No comments:

Post a Comment